REAL Republicans admit Palin is a poor choice

Transcript:

Chuck Todd: Mike Murphy, lots of free advice, we’ll see if Steve Schmidt and the boys were watching. We’ll find out on your blackberry. Tonight voters will get their chance to hear from Sarah Palin and she will get the chance to show voters she’s the right woman for the job Up next, one man who’s already convinced and he’ll us why Gov. Jon Huntsman. (cut away)

Peggy Noonan: Yeah.

Mike Murphy: You know, because I come out of the blue swing state governor world: Engler, Whitman, Tommy Thompson, Mitt Romney, Jeb Bush. I mean, these guys — this is how you win a Texas race, just run it up. And it’s not gonna work. And —

PN: It’s over.

MM: Still McCain can give a version of the Lieberman speech to do himself some good.

CT: I also think the Palin pick is insulting to Kay Bailey Hutchinson, too.

PN: Saw Kay this morning.

CT: Yeah, she’s never looked comfortable about this —

MM: They’re all bummed out.

CT: Yeah, I mean is she really the most qualified woman they could have turned to?

PN: The most qualified? No! I think they went for this — excuse me– political bullshit about narratives —

CT: Yeah they went to a narrative.

MM: I totally agree.

PN: Every time the Republicans do that, because that’s not where they live and it’s not what they’re good at, they blow it.

MM: You know what’s really the worst thing about it? The greatness of McCain is no cynicism, and this is cynical.

CT: This is cynical, and as you called it, gimmicky.

MM: Yeah.

Now I got some shit from quite a lot of people when I shared my initial reaction to McCain’s Token Woman VP Nomination. Not so much in these blogs, but in other forums. I was told I was bringing in my “preformed opinion”, and was personally attacked when I said this was a poor choice. That this was a gimmick, a gambit, the most cynical and offensive nomination I have ever seen…

But here you have actual CONSERVATIVES making those same exact judgments. Now, I want to know if people are going to start questioning Peggy Noonan’s education. Are they going to question the political persuasion of REPUBLICAN STRATEGIST Mike Murphy?

Sarah Palin is a bad choice. You don’t have to be a Democrat in order to see that, believe me. In a fair and just world, this would ruin McCain’s chance of winning. In a sane world, people would think…

Hey, why didn’t he actually research his choice for VP? Is he usually this careless in making decisions?

There’s a reason people are bashing John McCain. Thanks to the digital age, one can see McCain provides a lot of material. And you know what? He deserves it. When you’re running for president of the United States, you have to be on point, at all times.

ESPECIALLY if you happen to follow “Duh-duh-Dubya”!!!

Wah! You just worship Obama cause he’s a great speaker, and has millions of followers, blah blah blah… did you know he’s a Muslim too?

First of all, it would be fucking nice to have the leader of my country to be able to complete a fucking sentence. I don’t know, I kind of miss that after these past 8 years. Millions of followers? Gee, I wouldn’t go that far, but the fact that he’s popular means that people like him. People vote for who they like more. That’s the point. Complaining that you are losing is… well… just that, I suppose. (Yeah, that sentence was doomed a long time ago, ha ha) Then of course, is the cherry of the “argument”. Some email rumor or complaint about religion, either the Muslim lie or the Rev. Wright propaganda. Same GOP talking point routine. The only thing that changes are the variables. It’s getting a little old… LIKE MCCAIN!!!

ha ha, I kid you old people. 😉

Anyhow, the religion arguments are ridiculous to me considering what Sarah Palin has to say to her church, or what John Hagee has to say about Catholics, or what Jerry Falwell’s beliefs are… since McCain had no problem speaking at Liberty “University”.

But I’m digressing.

My point is that McCain has a long record of the choices he’s made. That’s how we judge people. And when someone makes a questionable choice, people are going to speak up. You may not like what’s being said, but that doesn’t mean the person saying it is necessarily a jerk.

I’m an asshole, so I don’t count. (ha ha)

But even assholes can be right. And once courageous men can fall… Randy “Duke” Cunningham, anyone?

I stand by my first impression of Sarah Palin. And as more information comes to light, I’m actually shocked that I wasn’t flat out wrong. In fact, it seems like she is even WORSE that I thought! I now know that I’m not the only one who sees her nomination as a cynical sexist gambit. I’m not the only one insulted by it. And I sure as hell am not the only one that sees through this bullshit.

I’m really hoping my generation pays attention. Look, I don’t think Obama’s gonna “save our country”. I don’t think ANY politician can do that. I just think this country is sinking. And sinking FAST. I see McCain as an accelerant to the process. I don’t think he’s evil, I just think he makes poor decisions. Sarah Palin was the last straw for me. I mean, it’s quite obvious he didn’t do his research. If that’s not worthy of a disqualification, then I don’t know what is. People can deny it all they want, but the fact remains the same. McCain was not up to the simple task of finding a decent candidate. Period.

I’m not saying that Obama could stave off the impending decay. I just think he won’t fuck things up as much as McCain would. I’d rather have a smooth talker at this state. Mad countries hate us, and a smooth talker will get us more than a bristly curt old man.

17 Responses to “REAL Republicans admit Palin is a poor choice”

  1. Notice what this guy says at the end…

  2. […] Because I am fucking lazy and because Angrygirl already it for her blog, here’s a transcript of what was said between the panel. Chuck Todd: Mike Murphy, lots of free advice, we’ll see if Steve Schmidt and the boys were watchin… […]

  3. Once again, you hit the nail on the head…I watched her speech tonight at the RNC and I sincerely tried to listen to what she had to say, at some points I tried to imagine she was a Democrat so that I could reversely interpret her words. At some points, I actually did agree with her but that was only because she was making such broad, sweeping generalizations that almost any human being could agree with. But the thing that struck me the most was the consistent fear-mongering. Time and time again she alluded to how much we Americans and America in general is in danger and how McCain is the person to lead us in this fight. It was the same ol’ schtick I have heard from Bush and Cheney and Fox News and all of their cronies for the past 8 years. This woman is dangerous and although she touts her defiance and dismantling of “the good ol’ boys” network in Alaska as reason for us to believe she is a maverick, she has become a puppet of the the right in a matter of days.

  4. Reverend Manny Says:

    Rock on AG!

    I love how even the Right Wing pundits can say it, but if we point out how awful and gimmicky this VP decision was–we’re the BASTARDS!!

    @Adam. Werd up on the fear-mongering. Their M.O. is only too clear. They are horrible on the issues, so they appeal to PERSONALITY TRAITS and FEAR as THE deciding factors in an election. Why? B/c they’d have no chance at this election if it ever came down to just issues.

    And further down we go…
    –Rev M

  5. I see you all didn’t like her speech last night.
    I personally thought it was the best political speech i have heard from a VP running mate. EVER. She was strong and she was confident.

    She did get down to business and talk about what she has done to bring her to the table and what they plan on doing in the future.

    She is also the first politician that wasn’t a local city council member or something that i have seen that is “real” and “genuine.” She did change things in Alaska, she did get rid of the good ole boys, people like Bush etc.

    Palin is actually going to get me to vote for them instead of Bob Barr. I felt he did make a good decision. I don’t think it was a gimmick. THe others that he was looking at had serious flaws with the people of the united states. They have already been not voted for. Romney, Thompson etc.

    I look forward to hearing her and Biden debate and as well i am looking forward to obama mccain debate.

    I don’t know why people think it is a ploy from McCain to get a woman. She has the brains, servant heart, leadership skills, and the backbone to be in the white house.

  6. @Jonathan

    Actually, I posted this before her speech. I didn’t comment on it cause I haven’t had a chance to see it. (Stupid job gets in the way of everything!)

    I stand by my initial reaction though, that this was a deeply cynical move to get disgruntled Hillary votes. A lot of people think that way too.

  7. Jonathon, you have got to be kidding, right? Are you pulling that satirical Colbert thing…c’mon man, you can’t top him. If you were actually impressed by her speech and considering to vote for her and McCain I would have to seriously question your knowledge of the issues, and your ignorance to the last 8 years. The republicans are pure fear-mongers that used 9/11 to manipulate and lie us into an unneeded war…a war where we have slaughtered over 1 million Iraqis…r u fucking seriously considering this right-wing bullshit? McCain wants to continue these geopolitical war games with Iran, Russia, North Korea, etc….shall I go on? Except this isn’t a game, it’s an ideology of ever-expanding imperialism to snatch up as many resources as possible, to build as many military bases as possible, to sell out the American people as much as possible and let the corporate conglomerates make the rules. This is soft fascism and you say you were going to vote for Bob Barr? Can you even comprehend what Libertarianism is? Libertarians talk of an almost isolationist foreign policy, something that I almost tend to agree with at this state of our world, but you want to vote for the oldest president in the history of America who not only guarantees, but demands we stay in Iraq, and demands not talking to Iran….dude get your facts straight…the United States have been funding and provoking the genocidal, Islamic extremist wars since the fucking Carter administration. And I haven’t even mentioned the economic ruin they gave us.

    “And if ya’ don’t know, now ya know, n—a” -Notorious B.I.G.

    lol, I just had to throw that it.

  8. I’m almost to the point where I think Palin was chosen so her ***kids*** could be the gimmick to rally the base. It’s very KarlRovian, really. Choose her, knowing the pregnancy would cause a firestorm, then attempt to spin it as sexist, and use every argument or question against her as a chance to show how sexist the country is. (and I’m not saying the country isn’t sexist)

    Now, let’s do the unPC thing and look once again at her kids. They represent the failed policies of the Bush administration. The oldest, Track, is going to fight in an old man’s war. The youngest quite possibly could have been assisted if stem cell research were allowed to expand. The pregnant teen could have been helped with sex ed, which the current and proposed future Republican administration is against. Poster family – yeah. But for all the wrong reasons.

  9. @Adam i actually do have a long history of being a breast of political actions in the world. Your right it is a far stretch voting for McCain and originally voting for Ron Paul, personally Bob Barr would be a terrible president. Yes i am for small government, i am for less power from DC. I am for America leaving people alone. I am for less federal taxes and more local control.
    I don’t like the policy of either party according to the War, I don’t personally think Obama or McCain will pull the troops out by 2010. But I also see that there are other issues on the table that are important to me. I am rising in my career and making more and more money, I work for a corporation who started 4 years ago and we are not the 95 fastest growing company in the nation, I am planning to get married have kids and buy a house all in the next three years. Personally I feel McCain will help me, will help my neighborhood more than Obama. I live in Atlanta, we have had people like Obama come through our city as mayor. What happens taxes go up the poor stays poor and the middle to upper middle class pay more. I live in an area where the property tax is 30% higher than surrounding counties, for what taxing the more wealthy, more established business owners, professional workers, athletes, executives for what? Nothing program after program that isn’t solving the issue just prolonging the decay of our poor. Obama looks to further that, in taxing the corporations which will drive up prices, lower hours, decrease jobs, and make it even harder for people like my boss who started her company in her living room 4 years ago and now is the largest company of this type in the state. So no I don’t like a lot of the things that McCain stands for, but like the last two elections I am voting for what I think will be the best out of the two. I do believe McCain Palin will help this country by shrinking government not by putting the burden on the people who lead their industries.

    I am well aware of other issues with the energy crisis, healthcare, abortion, etc. McCain does stand for most of the things I am looking for. Though I would rather have Dr. Ron Paul, but that will be for another time. I was the 7th grader who was writing essays to President Bush in 1993 about his campaign and I was the one who was the sofphomore when Newt and Bob Dole wrote the contract with America, and to the house and senate. I am saddened that People like Bush II and his administration gave a bad name to conservatives, but we stand for what is right for this country and when you have the wrong one in office time to get him out.

  10. @angrygirl i have posted her speech on my blog if you would like to watch it!

  11. @ Jonathon, you know what…I honestly believe that you are being sincere. It’s a shame Ron Paul didn’t have more mainstream media coverage and respect…guess he wasn’t rich enough. I listened to many, many things he said and idealistically I agreed with almost everything, except for the fact that he doesn’t accept the theory of evolution and his anti-abortion position. When I learned those things about him, it made me very sad that such a great man could actually rationalize such far right-wing beliefs (I’m sure he accepts science from every other angle, but when evolution comes to the table, the scientists have no clue what they’re saying, right? All you need is the bible….um, sure).

    But enough about Ron Paul…I notice how you kept droning on and on about how people like Obama have “come through [your] city as mayor” and done nothing, except basically raise taxes. Now I don’t want to get into a discussion about Atlanta’s local, or even Georgia’s state government, but when you mention such a supremely broad interpretation of what democrats do vs. what republicans do, I am going to have to ask you to be a little more specific. I agree that there are federal programs that are unneeded, but I also believe that many of them are necessary, and although imperfect in many situations, they are a step in the right direction toward better public policy. We do, after all, live in a community with one another.

    Are we not all Americans? Can we not all somehow come to an understanding that leaving millions of children behind in the educational system further distances ourselves from sustaining the “supremacy” that once was America? Can we not all agree that corporatization and privatization of the healthcare industry has literally left millions on their own without any possibility of hope? Children die because their parents don’t have fucking insurance, man. Fuck that. Nearly every developed country in the world: Canada, France, Australia, Britain, etc. have a universal healthcare program but not good ol’ USA. Let’s make MONEY off people’s sicknesses! Fuck yea!! So don’t sit there and tell me that I should feel like you are dignified in your choice to elect these people with such radical Christian beliefs and horrific foreign policies just so you can feel a little better about “rising” in your corporate company and “making more and more money” and how you want to buy a house and have children. We ALL want to buy homes and have children. We ALL want successful careers and financial stability. Your no better than me, or anyone else. But until we understand and take action to mend these horrendous problems that plague our cities, the cities that Bush and the entire republican party have left for dead, NOBODY will be better off. Money does NOT buy happiness, friend, and I’m sorry if you somehow believe it will lead you to some sort of true prosperity, but you and most everyone else with that in mind are fucking dead wrong. Taking care of your neighbor, feeding the hungry, educating the uneducated, healing the sick, not fucking attacking other countries for greedy, geopolitical purposes, pushing further for the rights of women and minorities, not fucking persecuting people for their sexual orientation like it’s the fucking 19th century again or something, etc. etc. etc. My god, I sound like I’m preaching the word of Jesus Christ and I don’t even believe in the guy! But this is what it takes, man. This is what we all have hope for…so that our children will be able to live in a freer, more accepting society with more possibilities and less burden, less tyranny…so that this country can continue to prosper and be the beacon of light it once was in this barbaric world…so we can all sincerely believe in our hearts that we have truly gave everything we could to guarantee life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness for everyone. I’m sorry if you can’t see this. I truly am, but this is why the fight will go on, my friend, ’til the end.

  12. @adam i see what your saying. i have a 3 part answer i would say i probably one of the ony pro-choice republicans, i don’t agree with it but i don’t feel it is the governments decision to say anything on the matter.
    1. To Ron Paul not beieving in evolution. I personally believe in intelligen design, though i don’t think that the world was proofed to begin in 168 hours (7 24 hour days) i do believe that God (though you don’t believe) created the world as the bible states. I don’t think that we are the result of a geneology crapshoot. I understand there are strong arguements for and against what i believe but i assure i didn’t come to that conclusion by watch the Jesus shit channell (TBN) So i do stand for public schools which i went to to teach both sides of something that isn’t “fact.” It isn’t and wasn’t when i went to school and i graduated in 1999. That isn’t really a large issue it is something personal to me. I don’t like it when schools have the doctrine of the personal beliefs of teachers teaching the class. A good friend of mine’s kid goes to a local public school and had an assignment last week to write a report on the DNC convention. I thought it was a good idea, except this week he didn’t have the assignment. I live in a premoninately Right-Winged area, actually Newt Gingrich’s old district. But it is completely outrageous for a child to be asked to report ont he one and not both or given a decision on what they want to report on. I digress cause it has nothing to do with what you said, i just got on a tangant.

    2. Work me talking about money. No i know money doesn’t buy happiness i was born in a trailor in a poor part of town and graduated high school living on a golf course in one of the wealthiest areas in the nation. I sawe more happiness in the Ghetto than in the nice house. Honestly i don’t like Bush and never liked bush, at first i believe he was a good leader through the whole 9/11 disaster but he didn’t deserve to be re-elected. So for me i have seent he hard work of my parents pay off and i have seen the hard work of others not pay off. I am truely lucky. But something i have noticed is that people and private organizations do alot better job taking care of their community than the government. My church who raised $700,000 for christmas time to provide for those who needed it. This was in addition to what the church normally does, with it’s single mother program, the neighbor hoods charity center helping the area learn english, get a good job, have the right clothes. It isn’t federally funded. It is funded by people int he community. i do believe it takes a community to preserve a community. THe best help in times of disaster is usually the private companies and people coming to help cause that’s what we do we are people. I do NOT in anyway think i am any better than anyone. I have worked hard to get where i am career wise but i know it can be gone in an instant. The solution is to limit the federal government, support the local government and let’s worry about ourselves, leave the UN NATO and all the other things we don’t need to be involved in. That leader probably won’t be elected for quite some time.

    3. Healthcare, i am not sure if you know people who have lived in the socializerd health care. I know several, i work for a company that speaks 45 languages and i have met people and talked to alot of them at length about the life in the other countries. The one thing i hear about socialized medicine is that it is horrible, yeah your health care if free. But it only works if you have the time to wait for the treatment. But healthcare is a tough question. there isn’t answer like we should have this or that. We need alot of things like the energy crisis won’t be solved by only drilling, it is solved by doing everything and looking into every resource out there solarm wind, water, thermal, crop, methane, natural gas, offshore drilling, nuclear power. etc etc etc. Healthcare is hindered by alot of things. Alot of time people can get the care they need but cannot aford the pills. well the FDA only allows two companies to make the meds approved by them. why not let compition reign that. Why not let others try to make the product cheaper. Answer the government gets to much money. Why can’t some sort of sales tax on certain items to fund the health care system. Here in GA we have what is called the HOPE scholorship. It is funded by the lottery and for the past 15 or so years it pays for pre-school for all children who want to go and pays for public college education if you have a 3.0 or higher. Like to UGA, Georgia Tech, others you may not know. That has been insanely popular because we had a governer who realized if we do things differenlty then we can be different and make things better. The answer to healthcare isn’t give it to everyone, causer all that will do is give crappy care to everyone. Do i have the whole answer on that no i don’t. Ron Paul had a good idea.

    4. I will have to look into the different things that happened, i don’t know what all the problems in ATL are besides falling property values and the Real Estate market is in the shitter.

    I hope this may have given you some insight to how alot of americans who typically don’t speak up cause we are trying to do our thing. Your right to bad Ron Paul was “disowned” by his own party. But neither cnadidate has all the answers but on the scale GOP is the one who has the most in common with me.

    Ha i am probably the only NON-Death Penalty, Pro-Choice, Christian Republican you have heard of!

  13. It’s funny…I agree with a lot you have to say. I wish more liberals and conservatives could have intelligent discourses like this…we may be able to solve more problems. I 100% disagree with you on intelligent design. Disagreeing with science based on your beliefs is willful ignorance. Gravity isn’t “fact”. Relativity isn’t “fact”. Plate tectonics isn’t “fact”. We might as well teach other fairy tale explanations for these “phenomenon”. Get a grip. If you want to present intelligent design in a religion, philosophy, or sociology class, I might be able to agree with you, but if you want it as an alternative in science class, we might as well present every single theological alternative to evolution, including, but not limited to those of the Aztecs, Greeks, Romans, Hindi, Buddhist, Taoist, Confucianist, Judaic, etc. It’s not science. Evolution IS science, not religion or spirituality. And by the way, I am not atheist. My god is NOT like your God. For me, it is impossible to define in any manner that can be understood by the millions of stooges who have followed your bible. Sorry, I don’t mean to be condescending, but it’s an extremely touchy subject for me. So, let’s not get into it.

    Anyways, I worked in a resort who had international clients travel through on a daily basis: The vast majority of them from countries with universal healthcare systems or of the like…ALL AGREED the American system was inferior and when I asked which they would rather have, ALL AGREED they would want their systems. Nothing’s perfect, and I don’t claim any system is, but ours is a travesty to humankind. Private healthcare could still exist in a public healthcare system, in fact I believe it would flourish. Actually, I know it would. A universal healthcare system would then not only provide top-notch quality by means of the private organizations, which would suffice the rich and others afraid of public organizations, it would also provide healthcare to everyone else who couldn’t afford it under our present system. Private systems is not the answer. Under that rationale, we should promote private fire departments, and private police departments, and other private tax agencies, blah blah blah.

    And as for “people and private organizations” taking better care of people than the government, I totally agree. We should support local government more, but just telling your life story and all the details, and then saying we should limit the federal government, you are falling victim to your own non-sequiturs. Your most insightful statement was this: “i do believe it takes a community to preserve a community.” If I were to say this to someone of the far-right persuasion, I would be labeled a fucking Communist, but you can get away with it simply because you are referring to a “smaller” community? America is a community, my friend. It’s pointless for me to go on about this subject if you don’t get it by now.

    If you don’t accept my good ideas and I don’t accept yours, then we will never achieve anything. I believe what I am saying is a truly fair compromise of the left and right, although it would probably take a book to say everything necessary.

    Oh, and by the way, I am actually FOR the death penalty, pro-choice, and extremely spiritual. I don’t condone the persecution of Christianity or any religion for that fact, but do NOT force your beliefs into the public policy of MY community because I won’t force mine upon you.

  14. Stephen M. Bauer Says:

    How about a blog entry on the history of your interest in politics?

  15. @stephen

    ah yes, in due time. Part of me wants to blog about how I was a community organizer in the 2004 election, and I take personal offense to Palin’s comment about people like me. In fact, I would like to see ONE speech where a Republican DOESN’T insult me. I know, I’m an easy target… atheist, female, not white, etc…

    As for the time being, I’ve been so busy at my new job that I don’t really have time to even check my email. Stupid security block…. grrr

    Anyhow, thanks for commenting here! See ya on the interwebs!!!

  16. gah, Dukie, that’s what we called him here, was my congressman. His replacement isn’t any better, he just may be smart enough to not get caught.

    Peggy Noonan is going to be on Jon Stewart tonight. I’ll have to watch it online tomorrow because I don’t have cable.

  17. >>>In fact, I would like to see ONE speech where a Republican DOESN’T insult me

    Notice how Obama didn’t insult anybody.

Leave a Reply

