don’t use my gender as a pawn

People can make all the excuses they want, but the bottom line remains, that John McCain purposely chose Sarah Palin because she is a woman.

Not because she’s the most qualified.

Make no mistake about it. That is flat out sexist.

Voting for or against someone based on their gender is sexist.

It is so painfully transparent that a huge factor in McCain choosing a female VP, is because he wanted to snag some of the angry Hillary supporters.

Now how is that sexist?

Its based on the assumption that Hillary Clinton voters only supported her because she is a woman. This move insinuates that is was Hillary’s gender, not her policies, experience, nor her intellect, that attracted so much support. Its insulting to most Hillary supporters (cause there really are people in every group), its insulting to women, and its also insulting to men… who are smart enough to realize that McCain’s camp is banking on them to vote with their penis instead of their head. Why else choose someone as ridiculous as Palin? The number one first comment that I’ve heard out of EVERY man I heard support this “move” has been on her appearance.

If I hear one more man comment on her appearance, as if someone’s physical appearance has an impact on their actual character, I think my head just might explode. And I hope my brain splatters over some sexist pig, in the hopes that my vitriol might burn some fucking ignorance out of them.

How many of you have ever been sexually harassed by a boss? Let me tell you from multiple experiences. It was not fucking cool. Every single time, it was from a man who could fire me in an instant. I can’t even begin to count the multitude of instances I had to fucking endure. By the way, it’s real easy to say lawsuit, but I obviously put up with it cause I needed the money, or I was too young to realize it.

Do you understand how demeaning that is?

So when I see something like this, a move specially reserved to use my gender as a pawn, it infuriates me.

The choice of Palin is extremely fucking shallow. And to see people bending over backwards trying to say that its a brilliant move…

Correction:

It’s a desperate, shallow move. It’s a gambit.

I can’t believe I used to respect this man. I really did. I gave McCain a standing ovation, when he called out Falwell and Robertson as “agents of intolerance“. But then he started kissing Falwell’s ass cause he wanted to court the Radical Christian vote. I still respect his service to the military. But his lack of support on the GI Bill… yet another vote that McCain missed. I’m not enjoying making these criticisms of McCain. This is more out of sense of being betrayed, or outright conned.

As of late, I’ve come to see how superficial McCain really is. The “maverick” thing, is a marketing technique. I bet a lot of you would be surprised that he actually voted Republican, 88.3% overall. And its also true that he voted in agreement with Bush Jr., 90% of the time.

Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me twice…

This man does not shoot from the hip, otherwise he wouldn’t have to say that he does all the time. Overcompensating, anyone?

This is all calculated bait and switch. I got a lot of shit for it, but I knew Bush was a con from day one. And I’ll take a lot of shit now, but I won’t shut up about it.

McCain is not who he says he is. It’s one thing to change your mind. In fact, I tend to applaud it. But I despise it when it’s done for swaying votes, not out of change of heart.

It is because I no longer trust McCain, that I am highly suspicious of his VP choice. And I think I am not mistaken in the underhanded insult by such a choice. I mean come on, another beauty queen?

Another one?

Or how about this one?

Seriously, what is it with John McCain and trophy women? Not only is the choice shallow, but its superficial as well. Choosing a weak running mate who just happens to be pretty is not a coincidence. Given his triple choice of beauty queens, one can understand why it looks like a cynical and highly dickish move.

Don’t get mad at me cause I can see the patterns. They are on full display for all to see, and we have this thing called “a google“. Trust me, its kind of a big deal.

Please please please…

Just because people say something, doesn’t mean its true.

10 Responses to “don’t use my gender as a pawn”

  1. John McCain purposely chose Sarah Palin because she is a woman.

    Not because she’s the most qualified.

    Make no mistake about it. That is flat out sexist.

    I don’t know if it’s “sexist” for John McCain to have picked a woman as his running mate. He could have picked a man, are you saying that would have been “less sexist”? Maybe he should have told his staff: “No women whatsoever – ONLY MEN should be considered, because picking a woman would be sexist”

    ?

    Your basic point that Palin’s sex was crucial to her being chosen is of course correct. I think where we really disagree is on the whole notion of “most qualified”. You complain that she’s not the “most qualified”. Most qualified for what? To ‘be the Vice President’? I think what a lot of people are forgetting is that the Vice President is a role with almost no real responsibilities or functions.

    In that sense, it could be argued that one of the few ‘qualifications’ a Vice Presidential candidate should have is:

    -Will help the Presidential candidate win the election.

    In short, if she helps McCain win, that’s a pretty good qualification.

    Anyway, that’s another way of looking at it, no?

    Its based on the assumption that Hillary Clinton voters only supported her because she is a woman.

    Well, since you went there, I don’t think you can deny that her being a woman has a LOT to do with getting where she’s gotten. Here is someone who was elected to the Senate having held no prior electoral office. Why did people vote for her? Because she was the First Lady. Why was she the First Lady? Cuz the dude she married happened to get elected President later. This simply would not have happened, and she would not be where she is right now, were she not a woman.

  2. - I don’t know if it’s “sexist” for John McCain to have picked a woman as his running mate. He could have picked a man, are you saying that would have been “less sexist”? Maybe he should have told his staff: “No women whatsoever – ONLY MEN should be considered, because picking a woman would be sexist”

    That’s not what I meant, but I can see how you can draw that conclusion from my rant. I should have mentioned the Hillary ads that McCain had made. I wholly believe that his choice of Palin was to sway the disgruntled Hillary vote.

    “I think what a lot of people are forgetting is that the Vice President is a role with almost no real responsibilities or functions.”

    Normally, I’d agree with you here. But I think Dick Cheney’s role as Vice President is a clear expansion of the role. Also, McCain is the oldest non-incumbent presidential nominee. Fortunately, he’s survived multiple cancerous growths. I feel that makes his vice presidential pick even more important.

    “-Will help the Presidential candidate win the election.

    In short, if she helps McCain win, that’s a pretty good qualification.

    Anyway, that’s another way of looking at it, no? ”

    Yes, you are correct in the sense that I, obviously, did not view this pick from McCain’s stance. I think there is a good chance that McCain will win, and would have preferred he chose someone else. Also, I just wish that both parties would care more about doing a good job than winning an election. But that’s just not realistic.

    “Why did people vote for her? Because she was the First Lady. Why was she the First Lady? Cuz the dude she married happened to get elected President later. This simply would not have happened, and she would not be where she is right now, were she not a woman.”

    I do not deny that there are definitely those that voted for her just because she was a woman. Thats what I meant by this:

    …”(cause there really are people in every group)”. I see now how unclear that is as well. I really should have been clear in that there were definitely women who supported Clinton based solely that she’s a woman. And that is sexist too…

    Thanks for checking me. :)

  3. Gender isn’t the point here, John McCain is running as a reformer and on his shortlist, the only person with the reform experience was Palin. Pawlenty didn’t have it, Romney didn’t have it, Huckabee didn’t have it, etc These are all “old boys” who have gotten by through playing party politics, not something McCain wanted for his “real change” ticket. Ignoring her gender, Palin has accomplished a variety of things, including reducing taxes as mayor by taking a hit to her own salary, rooting out corruption in the Alaskan Republican Party, defeating her Democratic opponent without party support, increasing taxes on oil companies to give her state tax credit, cut non-essential “pork” like the “bridge to nowhere” (something Joe Biden voted for), etc Should I go on?

    Thing is that a lot of people are claiming that McCain had other female choices who were more “qualified” then her that he should have picked, but they were “Washington Insiders”, not reformers. To clarify, she didn’t get her spot on the ticket because she lacked the balls, she EARNED it because she spent her political career busting them.

  4. @clancop – I agree, gender is not the only point.

    As for the bridge to nowhere, I’m glad that she killed that, but she redirected the funds for another one of her projects instead. So the money was never returned.

    http://blogs.tnr.com/tnr/blogs/the_plank/archive/2008/08/29/did-palin-really-fight-the-bridge-to-nowhere.aspx

    Forgive my premature rant on Palin. There are many things I dislike about her, but I do agree with some of her stances as well. This blog was more intended as my personal venting, than of the sole reason of not liking her.

    Thank you for your comment!

  5. Dick Cheney’s expansion of the VP role (if it indeed occurred) was not formal. It’s unlikely to be repeated IMHO. But, I could be wrong.

    By the way I didn’t mean to imply that I thought a significant % of women supported Hillary Clinton ‘solely because she’s a woman’. Just that her being a woman is mixed up in there. It’s hard to separate these things. And, the same is true of Palin.

    best

  6. prometheustherebel Says:

    The only real change I’m seeing from McCain is from a die hard moderate who, ever since this campaign started, has move further and further right… Palin surely looks like a strategical pawn. I’m not hatin’, I’m just saying. While Biden surely provides a wealth of political knowledge and experience to Obama, I’m not sure what real additional knowledge Palin provides for McCain…

  7. prometheustherebel Says:

    And to SonicCharmer, I’m sorry but your rationale for supporting McCain in his choice sounds a lot like…”how can he be racist if he has black friends?”

    Using Palin’s status as a woman is sexist, whether he chose her or not. I remember in early political projections of running mates, Palin was on the long list and discounted above more well versed politicians. Just something to think about.

  8. @prometheustherebel

    I was actually considering voting for McCain in 2000 (my first pres election), til he lost the primary. But the John McCain of today is not the same guy from 2000. I understand people change, but like you said, this guy has consistently moved further and further to the extreme right.

    Yeah, the only thing I think Palin actually brings is the extreme religious votes. Apparently speaking at Liberty University isn’t quite enough these days.

  9. prometheus – I’m not sure I ever exactly said I ‘support McCain in his choice’. Did I?

  10. this right here might be the dumbest thing I’ve read in the blogosphere about Palin’s nomination
    http://waitingonthenewmoon.wordpress.com/2008/09/01/progressives-hate-women/#comment-1653

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

